WR Chooses Woman For Council Of State Polls

Madam Eunice Buah, WR Rep On Council of State 

A 52-year-old Tema-based business woman, Eunice Jacqueline Buah, was on Thursday elected as the Western Regional representative on the Council of State for the next four years.

She polled 24 votes out of the 44 valid votes cast   to defeat five other contenders.

The others included Ntori Bonkyi Akomea who had 10 votes; Samuel Ebah Boadi, seven votes; Lt. Col (Rtd) Anthony Eduhene, three and Enoch Bart-Plange Tawiah, a student of the University of Cape Coast, had zero.

One John Kojo Erzah, an educationist, withdrew from the race at the eleventh hour.

The Western Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), Stephen Opoku-Mensah, supervised the election at Sekondi.

The Electoral College comprised two representatives from the 22 metropolitan, municipal and district assemblies in the region, adding up to the 44 voters.

Madam Eunice Buah expressed gratitude to the delegates for the confidence reposed in her. She pledged to champion the development of the region in collaboration with stakeholders.

She said she would work with the metropolitan, municipal and district chief executives, Members of Parliament, presiding members as well as the traditional authorities, to accelerate the development of the region.

Earlier in their brief speeches the contestants could not fathom why the region contributs immensely towards the country’s resources, yet it has not received its fair share of the national cake.

They therefore promised to collaborate with stakeholders to move the area forward.

They promised to embark on massive infrastructure development in the region.

They also pledged to collaborate with the government to resuscitate the railway lines and build factories in the region to create employment for the teeming unemployed youth.

The Council of State is made up of 25 members, comprising a former Chief Justice, Inspector General of Police, Chief of Defence Staff, President of the National House of Chiefs, 10 representatives elected from the 10 regions and 11 other members appointed by the president.

From Emmanuel Opoku, Sekondi