No Winner In Tempane Assembly PM Election

A section of the Assembly members. INSET: Joseph Dindiok Kpemka

Members of the newly-created Tempane District Assembly in the Upper East Region have failed to elect a Presiding Member (PM) for the second consecutive time to steer the affairs of the Assembly.

The Tempane District Assembly is among some 38 newly-created assemblies that were inaugurated across the country in March 2018.

The Tempane Assembly has a total of 24 members, including government appointees.

At the end of the polls on Monday, an aspirant, David Ayaba, polled 12 votes while his challenger, Kolan Yakubu also had 12 votes.

None of the contestants was ready to step down for the other, and so a new date would be scheduled to elect a PM for the Tempane District Assembly.

A Deputy Attorney General and Member of Parliament (MP) for Tempane, Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, in an address, said he was shocked at the loud applause by the Assembly members after the declaration of the results of the polls.

“It was an embarrassing moment that did not require applause rather a quiet moment to reflect and ponder the development of the new district whose future hangs on the decision they (Assembly members) make at any sitting.”

The Deputy Attorney Minister, called on the Assembly members, to always consider the supreme interest of the Assembly.

“We are 24 people, representing 88,000 people in Tempane District, and the 24 of us cannot take the 88,000 people for granted. Just because we have the privilege of representing them, does not mean we should take them for granted and take entrenched positions. That will not augur well for us,” Mr Kpemka added.

From Ebo Bruce-Quansah, Tempane