Joshua Alabi Picks Form To Contest In NDC Presidential Primaries

Professor Joshua Alabi

Former Vice Chancellor of the University for Professional Studies, Accra, Professor Joshua Alabihas picked nomination forms to contest in the National Democratic Congress’ (NDC) upcoming presidential primaries.

Prof. Alabi’s forms were picked on his behalf by his campaign team led by former Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Ken Dzirasah.

Other members of the campaign team that were present to pick the forms include Victor Kojogah Adawudu, Nii Amasah Namoale, and Richard Quashigah, who presented a cheque for GHȼ20,000 for the nomination form on Tuesday afternoon.

Professor Alabi becomes the second person to pick the forms after former President John Mahama who picked his forms on Monday, the first day the party opened for aspirants to pick their forms.

Although Joshua Alabi’s camp expressed regret at the high cost of the filling and nomination fees, it had indicated that it will not be forced to back out of the race due to the amount.

Richard Quashigah, a member of Alabi’s campaign team in an earlier interview with Citi Newsgave assurances that “nothing will stop Prof. Joshua Alabi from running. He is unstoppable, we are in the contest,” although they believe the GHȼ 20,000 and GHȼ 400,0000 nomination and filing fees are too high.

Former President John Mahama, who is also aspiring to lead the party again has not spoken publicly on the announced fees.

He has rather gone ahead to pick his nomination forms for GHS 20,000, and seems to have raised more than the needed GHS 400,000 needed as filing fee through the supporters of the NDC and others supposedly donating towards his campaign.

Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, who is also aspiring to be flagbearer of the party has said he will back out of the race if the Council of Elders of the NDC fails to impress upon the national executives to review downwards the GHȻ400,000 filing fee.

He is among some 9 aspirants who earlier this week petitioned the Council of Elders over the high nomination and filing fees.

Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, Sylvester Mensah, Stephen Atubiga, Nurideen Iddrissu, Goosie Tanoh, Kojo Bonsu and Elikplim Agbemava are among those who petitioned the Council of Elders.

Some constituents of the La Dade Kotopon Constituency in the Greater Accra Region, have served notice they will also pick up the forms on behalf of Sylvester Mensah.

Meanwhile, the General Secretary of the NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, has indicated that the party will not extend the date for picking of nomination forms [which ends today, Tuesday], despite protests from some aspirants.